“Dead fathers” (and other awful typos)

By Amy Beth Miller

I overlook most of the typos on the papers my daughter brings home from school. One annual notice has had the same mistake for several years. I always wonder why no one seems to notice and correct that one. I don’t mention it because I try to keep my complaints to important matters. We all know what the form means, but I do hope that someone who isn’t a professional nitpicker will speak up one day.

I chuckled at another typo, but later I had a more serious reaction. The invitation to a kindergarten class program for Father’s Day began: “Dead Fathers.” I understand how a slip of the finger on the keyboard resulted in the “d” instead of an “r.” I hope that none of the students’ families had recently experienced the father’s death, which would make a simple typo a painful experience.

Church bulletins seem to be rife with typos that are amusing or embarrassing, depending on your perspective. While I am not sure whether the church bulletin errors you can find posted on the Internet are true, it’s understandable that a congregation’s “singing” could show up as “sinning” and “held” could be typed as “hell.”

What’s the worst typo you’ve seen?

Leave a Reply

